Staff Directory

Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Gray
Director of Athletics & Recreation
902-420-5427 scott.gray@smu.ca
Greg Knight
Assistant Athletic Director
902-491-6553 greg.knight@smu.ca
Linda Gould
Facility Scheduler
902-420-5440 linda.gould@smu.ca
Karen Habib
Administration Manager
902-420-5429 karen.habib@smu.ca
Anastasios 'Tommy' Kanichis
Marketing & Revenue Generation Coordinator
902-430-8175  anastasios.kanichis@smu.ca
Allan April
Communications Officer
902-240-6623 allan.april@smu.ca
Mikayla Nassy-Wong
Sport Coordinator
782-641-2115 mikayla.nassy-wong@smu.ca
Kurt Stevenson
Head Athletic Therapist
902-491-6363 kurt.stevenson@smu.ca
Brad Hughes
Associate Athletic Therapist
902-222-6788 bradley.hughes@smu.ca
Service Desk 902-420-5555
Name Title Phone E-Mail

Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Steve Sumarah
Head Coach
613-324-9795 steve.sumarah@smu.ca
Scott Annand
Assistant Head Coach / Defensive Line
Anastasios Kanichis
Recruiting Coordinator / Receivers Coach
anastasios.kanichis@smu.ca
Gavin Lake
Defensive Coordinator / Defensive Backs
Gord Beattie
Offensive Line
Scott Borden
Quarterbacks
Mike Dawes
Running Backs
Matt Elliott
Receivers
Jerome Downey
Linebackers
Erin Craig
Defensive Backs / Strength & Conditioning
John McGowan
Kicking and Long Snapping / Team Statistics
Josh Sampson
Recruiting
Paul Mason
Equipment Manager
Mikaela Henderson
Team Nutritionist
Laura Campbell
Operations Assistant
Adrien Grant
Video Coordinator
Katie Pegg
Defensive Quality Control/Film Assistant
Mya Carey
Academic Assistant
Sammy Wood
Hydration
Ocean Samuel
Assistant Equipment Manager

Field Hockey

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sharon Rajaraman
Head Coach
Angela Colville
Assistant
Michael Andrews
Assistant
Thomas Kochanoff
Strength & Conditioning Coach

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jonah Taussig
Head Coach
jonah.taussig@smu.ca
Naofall Folahan
Associate Head Coach
Mat MacDonald
Assistant Coach
Jeff Paris
Assistant Coach
Damon Cole
Assistant Coach
John Landry
Manager
Al Brooks
Manager

Men's Ice Hockey

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tyler Naugler
Head Coach
tyler.naugler@smu.ca
Jon Greenwood
Assistant Coach
jonathan.greenwood@smu.ca
Matt Malloy
Assistant Coach / Video
Bob MacIsaac
Assistant Coach
Kelly Serbu
Assistant Coach
Phil Wright
Goaltending Coach
Chris Pierce
Head Strength & Conditioning Coach
Mike Fines
Team Manager
Kevin Purchase
Team Manager
Ron Abarbanel
Team Chaplain

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mesut Mert
Head Coach
headcoachsmu@gmail.com
Ebenezer Owusu-Afriyie
Assistant Coach
ebowusu@gmail.com

Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kevin Heisler
Head Coach
kheisler@ns.sympatico.ca
Kevin O'Neill
Assistant Coach, Multiple Events
Jonathan Peverill
Assistant Coach, Middle Distance
Ian MacDonald
Assistant Coach, Middle Distance
Matthew Musoke
Asst. Coach, High Jump
Darren Stoddard
Assistant Coach, Distance
Lee Myrick
Assistant Coach, Throws
Megan Graham
Assistant Coach, Women's Sprints
Winston Manuel
Assistant Coach, Men's Sprints

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Munro
Head Coach
scott.munro@smu.ca
Les Berry
Assistant Coach
Kara Hayes
Assistant Coach
Kevin Churchill
Assistant Coach
Andrew Gibb
Assistant Coach
Erin Craig
Strength & Conditioning Coach

Women's Ice Hockey

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Larade
Head Coach
chris.larade@smu.ca
Brian Bradbury
Assistant Coach
Steve Axford
Assistant Coach
Cameron Scott
Assistant Coach
Phil Wright
Goaltending Coach
Chris Pierce
Head Strength & Conditioning Coach
Mike Fines
Team Manager
Mackenzie Wesley-James
Student Trainer
Marsha Abarbanel
Life Skills Coach

Women's Rugby

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Emma DeLory
Head Coach
Emma.Delory@smu.ca
Janice Cougle
Assistant Coach
Maggie MacPhee
Assistant Coach
Mikaela Henderson
Team Dietitian
Erik Richard
Strength & Conditioning Coach

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Marisa Colzie
Head Coach
Marisa.Colzie@smu.ca
Josh Slate
Goalkeeper Coach
Mikaela Henderson
Team Registered Dietitian
Erin Craig
Strength and Conditioning Coach
Lorianne Urquhart
Team Counselor

Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Darren Russell
Head Coach
darren.russell@smu.ca
Steve Simmons
Assistant Coach
Hilary Hommy
Assistant Coach
Emilla Conlon
Assistant Coach
Christa Manchakowski
Assistant Coach
Nathan Wareham
Assistant Coach
Mikaela Henderson
Team Nutritionist
Devin Kirt
Strength and Conditioning Coach

Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kevin Heisler
Head Coach
kheisler@ns.sympatico.ca
Darren Stoddard
Assistant Coach
Ian MacDonald
Assistant Coach
Jonathan Peverill
Assistant Coach